RELEASE IN FULL

From:

Mills, Cheryl D <MillsCD@state.gov>

Sent:

Thursday, July 09, 2009 7:24 AM

To:

ш

Subject:

FW: nominees update

From: Verma, Richard R

Sent: Thursday, July 09, 2009 6:08 AM

To: Mills, Cheryl D; Sullivan, Jacob J; Abedin, Huma; Reines, Philippe I

Cc: Rodriguez, Miguel E **Subject:** nominees update

The SFRC reported out all of the following nominees yesterday. We will try to push as many of these through the Senate today, if at all possible.

NOMINATIONS:

- 1. Christopher William Dell to be Ambassador to the Republic of Kosovo
- 2. Nancy J. Powell to be Director General of the Foreign Service
- 3. Capricia Penavic Marshall to be Chief of Protocol, and to have the rank of Ambassador during her tenure of service
- 4. Maria Otero to be Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs
- 5. Philip L. Verveer for the rank of Ambassador during his tenure of service as Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for International Communications and Information Policy in the Bureau of Economic, Energy, and Business Affairs and U.S. Coordinator for International Communications and Information Policy
- 6. The Honorable Laurie Susan Fulton to be Ambassador to Denmark

- 7. Louis B. Susman to be Ambassador to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- 8. Charles H. Rivkin to be Ambassador to France, and to serve concurrently and without additional compensation as Ambassador to Monaco
- 9. Mark Henry Gitenstein to be Ambassador to Romania
- 10. The Honorable Timothy J. Roemer to be Ambassador to India
- 11. Richard J. Schmierer to be Ambassador to the Sultanate of Oman
- 12. Gordon Gray to be Ambassador to the Republic of Tunisia