RELEASE IN FULL

From:

Mills, Cheryl D < MillsCD@state.gov>

Sent:

Thursday, May 26, 2011 11:11 AM

To:

н

Subject:

FW: Presidential Delegation: Nigeria's Presidential Inauguration

From: Gelber, Ethan M

Sent: Thursday, May 26, 2011 10:19 AM

To: Mills, Cheryl D; Abedin, Huma; Sullivan, Jacob J

Cc: Toiv, Nora F; Samuelson, Heather F

Subject: RE: Presidential Delegation: Nigeria's Presidential Inauguration

All,

Please note that the WH decided on the following Presidential Delegation to represent the U.S. at Nigeria's Presidential Inauguration on May 29, 2011:

Assistant Secretary Johnnie Carson, Head of Delegation Ambassador Terence McCulley

Thanks, Ethan

From: Mills, Cheryl D

Sent: Friday, April 29, 2011 5:29 PM

To: Gelber, Ethan M; Abedin, Huma; Sullivan, Jacob J

Cc: Toiv, Nora F; Samuelson, Heather F

Subject: RE: Presidential Delegation: Nigeria's Presidential Inauguration

fine

From: Gelber, Ethan M

Sent: Friday, April 29, 2011 5:24 PM

To: Mills, Cheryl D; Abedin, Huma; Sullivan, Jacob J

Cc: Toiv, Nora F; Samuelson, Heather F

Subject: Presidential Delegation: Nigeria's Presidential Inauguration

Cheryl,

AF is requesting a Presidential Delegation to represent the U.S. at Nigeria's Presidential Inauguration on May 29, 2011. Please see the proposed delegation list below and let us know if you have any changes before the memo is sent to the White House.

Thanks, Ethan

Proposed Delegation List

Head of Delegation

- Eric Holder, Attorney General
- Ambassador Susan Rice, United States Ambassador to the United Nations
- Daniel Poneman, Deputy Secretary of Energy

Department of State

- Maria Otero, Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs
- Ambassador Johnnie Carson, Assistant Secretary of State for Africa
- Terence McCulley, Ambassador to Nigeria

Members of Congress

- Senator John Kerry, Chairman Senate Foreign Relations Committee
- Senator Chris Coons, Chairman Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Africa
- Representative Chris Smith, Chairman House Foreign Affairs Africa Subcommittee
- Representative Donald Payne, Ranking Member House Foreign Affairs Africa Subcommittee

Non-Executive Branch

- Stephen Hayes, President of the Corporate Council on Africa
- Johnnetta Cole, Director of the National Museum of African Art at the Smithsonian Institution
- Professor Richard Joseph, Northwestern University
- Hakeem Olajuwon, Nigerian-American, former NBA player
- Dr. Victor Ukpolo, Chancellor of Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO); Nigerian-American

Ethan Gelber Office of White House Liaison Department of State GelberEM@state.gov 202-647-4820