UNCLASSIFIED U.S. Department of State Case No. F-2016-07895 Doc No. C06163717 Date: 09/26/2018

RELEASE IN FULL

FW: U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom - 22 USC 6431 Mills, Cheryl D MillsCD@state.gov From: To: Abedin, Huma AbedinH@state.gov FW: U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom - 22 USC 6431 Subject: FYI - can't recall if she got this but shared the substance with her. From: Kennedy, Patrick F To: Mills, Cheryl D Sent: Tue Feb 17 19:08:41 2009 Subject: U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom - 22 USC 6431 Cheryl Per discussion today 9 member body – three appointed by POTUS, three by House, and three by Senate Amb. at Large is ex-officio, non-voting member Regards pat § 6431. Establishment and composition How Current is This?

(a) In general There is established the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom. (b) Membership

(1) Appointment

The Commission shall be composed of-

(A) the Ambassador at Large, who shall serve ex officio as a nonvoting member of the Commission; and

(B) Nine [1] other members, who shall be United States citizens who are not being paid as officers or employees of the United States, and who shall be appointed as follows:

(i) Three members of the Commission shall be appointed by the President.

(ii) Three members of the Commission shall be appointed by the President pro tempore of the Senate, of which two of the members shall be appointed upon the recommendation of the leader in the Senate of the political party that is not the political party of the President, and of which one of the members shall be appointed upon the recommendation of the leader in the Senate of the other political party.

(iii) Three members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, of which two of the members shall be appointed upon the recommendation of the leader in the House of the political party that is not the political party of the President, and of which one of the members shall be appointed upon the recommendation of the leader in the House of the other political party.

(2) Selection

(A) In general

Members of the Commission shall be selected among distinguished individuals noted for their knowledge and experience in fields relevant to the issue of international religious freedom, including foreign affairs, direct experience abroad, human rights, and international law.

(B) Security clearances

Each member of the Commission shall be required to obtain a security clearance.

(3) Time of appointment

The appointments required by paragraph (1) shall be made not later than 120 days after October 27, 1998.

(c) Terms

(1) In general

The term of office of each member of the Commission shall be 2 years. The term of each member of the Commission appointed to the first two-year term of the Commission shall be considered to have begun on May 15, 1999, and shall end on May 14, 2001, regardless of the date of appointment to the Commission. The term of each member of the Commission appointed to the second two-year term of the Commission shall begin on May 15, 2001, and shall end on May 14, 2003, regardless of the date of appointment to the case in which a vacancy in the membership of the Commission is filled during a two-year term of the Commission, such membership on the Commission shall terminate at the end of that two-year term of the Commission shall be eligible for reappointment to a second term.

(2) Establishment of staggered terms

(A) In general

Notwithstanding paragraph (1), members of the Commission appointed to serve on the Commission during the period May 15, 2003, through May 14, 2005, shall be appointed to terms in accordance with the provisions of this paragraph.

(B) Presidential appointments

UNCLASSIFIED U.S. Department of State Case No. F-2016-07895 Doc No. C06163717 Date: 09/26/2018

Of the three members of the Commission appointed by the President under subsection (b)(1)(B)(i) of this section, two shall be appointed to a 1-year term and one shall be appointed to a 2-year term. (C) Appointments by the President pro tempore of the Senate Of the